Several file for election in Osceola township races

April 28, 2016

By Rosemary Horvath

Long-serving Marion Township trustee Charles Rippee will not seek re-election to the board. Running for the post is Shannon M. Carmody.

Connie Zuiderveen has filed for Marion Township clerk. She is currently serving the unexpired term when clerk Lois Aittma stepped down after five years for medical reasons in January. Zuiderveen had been the deputy clerk and now Aittama is in the position.

These two and board incumbents in remaining township offices all are running unopposed. 

Deadline for filing for partisan township races was Friday. A complete list of all Osceola County townships is on the county web page.

Contested races from the same political party will appear on the Aug. 2 ballot. Those winning their party nominations will appear on the November general election ballot for partisan races. 

Here’s a sampling of a few other contested races. Offices not listed are all running unopposed:

Sherman Township incumbents are being challenged except for clerk Bethany Bolduc who is running unopposed. All incumbents and challengers are Republicans.

Incumbent supervisor David Eggle will face Reeves Box in August. Incumbent treasurer Sharon Black will face Kimberly Leonard. 

Running for two trustee terms are incumbents Donald F. Akers and Peter Nemish.  Challenger is Wilbur Gasper.

Hersey Township will have a race for treasurer between incumbent Jeanette M. Hays and challenger Jessica Wayne. Both are Republicans.

Highland Township has two Republicans running for supervisor: incumbent Sidney King and challenger Derek Wing.

Jodie A. Peterson is candidate for treasurer. Ardith Sikkema is not running.

Three seeking the two trustee Republican nominations are incumbents L.D. Hesselink and Kenneth L. Van Polen. Challenger is Chris Peterson.

Middle Branch Township will have a race among three trustee candidates. Incumbent Sarah D. Blackhedge and newcomers Karon Krause and Ronald Austin seek the two available terms. Beverly Orvis is not running again.  All are Republican candidates.
Township clerk Martha West is not on the ticket. Peggy A. Hoard is the only candidate seeking the clerk’s post.

Three other townships will have newcomers elected to posts whose current officeholders have not filed for another term. All are Republicans. All are running unopposed.

Richard S. Dunlap filed for Burdell Township clerk. Shelley Muczynski filed for Hartwick Township clerk.   

Please follow and like us:
Error, no Ad ID set! Check your syntax!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *